Collaborate with the Ultra experience February 2018 Update

Starting Sunday, February 4th, 2018, Collaborate Ultra is receiving some improvements focused on digital collaboration. There are four main changes:

  • Phone only dial-in
  • Edit recording names
  • Single menu for settings, feedback and status
  • Application sharing bandwidth improvements

Phone only dial-in

With phone only dial-in, students will once again have the ability to dial into a session without first connecting to a session using a web browser or the Collaborate app. Session dial-in numbers will be available as soon as a session is created so students can be notified via email, course announcement, or calendar entry details.

Screen shot of session creation form with dial-in number & PIN

The dial-in number and PIN also appear on the session list after a session is selected.

Note: dial-in information will not be available to students until a session is active. Faculty can locate the dial-in number and PIN by looking at a session’s settings:

Screenshot of session options screen

This new dial-in option is anonymous. When you use Anonymous dial-in, your phone is not paired with your account or session avatar. You appear in the session as an anonymous caller to other attendees.

Edit recording names

Give your recordings a new name. Access Recordings from your scheduler. Find the recording you want to edit. Open the Recording options and select Edit name.

The recording name always begins with the session name. Edits to the name change the text after the backslash (/) only.

Single menu for your settings, feedback, and status

See what your network connection is at-a-glance. If your connection is poor or broken, you see an alert associated with your profile picture. You see one bar for a poor connection, three for good, and four for excellent.

Application sharing bandwidth improvements

Previously, when the browser reported a drop in available bandwidth, Collaborate would continue to prioritize the audio stream and send a lower quality application sharing stream, resulting in a blurry screen for the viewer. This usually lasted a few seconds, until the browser reported more available bandwidth. This was happening more frequently than true network capacity indicated. Now, we use additional measurements for a more accurate picture of network conditions, which greatly reduces the frequency of the blurry moments.

This entry was posted in featured and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.