500$ Award: Academic Excellence Address

The Faculty of DeSales University strongly encourage full-time traditional undergraduate day students to enter the Academic Excellence Address Competition described below.

Introduction:  The Academic Excellence Address Award is given each year to encourage, acknowledge, and reward academic excellence in public speaking. The winner presents his/her speech at the Academic Excellence Ceremony Liturgy held in the Connelly Chapel on Sunday, April 19, 2015, at 1:30 p.m.

Eligibility:  All full-time traditional undergraduate day students are eligible.  A student who wins the competition may not compete in subsequent years.

Nomination:  Each of the four academic divisions nominates two students who are majoring in a discipline offered by the division, with the exception of the Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Division which may nominate three students because of its size.  Each division holds a competition in a public forum which is announced and open to the entire DeSales community.  The full-time faculty members in the division choose two (three from the Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Division) students from the competing major students within the division.

Length of Speech:  The speech must be at least five minutes and at most ten minutes in length.

Audio-Visuals:  No audio-visual material may be used.

Awards:  Each student who enters the competition is awarded two tickets to an Act 1 performance in the Labuda Theatre. The winner of the competition receives a check for $500.

Selection of Winner:  The nine contestants representing the four academic divisions present their speeches for the division heads on Wednesday, April 8, 2015, at 4:00 p.m. in the Hurd Science Center Auditorium.

Evaluation Criteria:

  1. Delivery (articulation, poise, enthusiasm, rapport with audience), 1 to 5 points
  2. Appropriateness (to audience of students, faculty, and family members), 1 to 5 points
  3. Organization, development of topic, comprehensibility, 1 to 5 points
  4. Length over 10 minutes or under 5 minutes, -2 points

Please direct your questions to the head of the division or chair of the department of your major. 

Dr. Karen Doyle Walton

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs