$500 Prize Award: Academic Excellence Address

The Faculty of DeSales University strongly encourage full-time traditional undergraduate day students to enter the Academic Excellence Address Competition.

The Academic Excellence Address Award is given each year to encourage, acknowledge, and reward academic excellence in public speaking. The winner presents his/her speech at the Academic Excellence Ceremony Liturgy held in the Connelly Chapel on Sunday, April 17, 2016, at 1:30 p.m.

Eligibility: All full-time traditional undergraduate day students are eligible. A student who wins the competition may not compete in subsequent years.

Nomination: Each of the five academic divisions nominates two students who are majoring in a discipline offered by the division, with the exception of the Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Division which may nominate three students because of its size. Each division holds a competition in a public forum which is announced and open to the entire DeSales community. The full-time faculty members in the division choose two (three from the Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Division) students from the competing major students within the division.

Length of Speech: The speech must be at least five minutes and at most ten minutes in length.

Audio-Visuals: No audio-visual material may be used.

Awards: Each student who enters the competition is awarded two tickets to an Act 1 performance in the Labuda Theatre. The winner of the competition receives a check for $500.

Selection of Winner: The 11 contestants representing the five academic divisions present their speeches for the division heads on Wednesday, March 23, 2016, at 3:00 p.m. in the Hurd Science Center Auditorium.

Evaluation Criteria:

  1. Delivery (articulation, poise, enthusiasm, rapport with audience), 1 to 5 points
  2. Appropriateness (to audience of students, faculty, and family members), 1 to 5 points
  3. Organization, development of topic, comprehensibility, 1 to 5 points
  4. Length over 10 minutes or under 5 minutes, -2 points

Please direct your questions to the head of the division or chair of the department of your major.

– Dr. Karen Doyle Walton, Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs